Romance Book Club: All You Need Is Love

Primary tabs

Program Type:

Book Club

Age Group:

Adults
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.

Program Description

Body

The program is drop-in. No registration required.


All You Need is Love...

There is nothing wrong with enjoying romance! Join the All You Need is Love Romance Book Club to read a new romance each month and discuss it with other lovers of romance. The July book is...You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria! The novel is available on hoopla as an eBook and eAudiobook or you can contact Samantha to reserve a physical copy.

All You Need is Love - July 2023 - You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

ABOUT THE BOOK

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.